April 6, 2013 – Rocka Your Soul “Create Your Own” Workshop – Grand Park, Downtown Los Angeles, CA

Volunteering 12-5pm for Active Arts’ “Create Your Own” quilt and fan workshop as part of the Rocka Your Soul festivities at the Music Center on Saturday, April 6, 2013.

url-1

 

http://www.musiccenter.org/about/Our-Programs/Special-Events-Festivals/Rocka/Create-Your-Own/

Commentary: Why do you care that I’m volunteering at the Music Center? You probably don’t. But in case you’re wondering, I include this in my news blog because I am a strong advocate of volunteering and charitable work. I think it is important to give of ourselves and donate our time to worthy causes. I think Mahatma Ghandi said “The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.” I was introduced to the Music Center’s Active Arts program a few years ago when I went to a free dance class in the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion plaza and I thought what better way to support the arts (e.g. singing, dancing, performing, poetry, musicianship, arts & crafts) than by being a volunteer there. Active Arts provides Los Angeles with many free opportunities to explore creative passions and interests. Check out their website below for more information on their programs.

http://www.musiccenter.org/events/activearts/

 

Leave a Reply

